Logo: Africa-EU Energy Partnership (AEEP)

Africa-EU Energy Partnership (AEEP) | About the AEEP

Skip navigation

End of navigation

About the AEEP

The Africa-EU Energy Partnership (AEEP)

Energy is at the heart of development and a prerequisite for reaching the Millennium Development Goal of halving the number of world’s hungry and poor until 2015. Finding a reliable and sustainable energy supply to meet our energy needs will be the main challenge both for Africa and Europe in the 21st century.

In Lisbon in December 2007, all African and European Heads of State and their governments agreed to launch the Africa-EU Energy Partnership (AEEP), as one of the eight strategic partnerships comprising the Africa-EU Joint Strategy. Under this partnership of equals, the two continents share their knowhow and resources, tune their complementary interests and closely link their policies to meet the energy challenge hand in hand.

Structured as a long term framework for political dialogue and cooperation between Africa and the European Union (EU) the AEEP aims to increase effectiveness of African and European efforts to secure reliable and sustainable energy services in the coming decades on both continents and to extend access to modern energy services and expand the use of renewable energy in Africa.

At the First High Level Meeting of the AEEP, held in Vienna in September 2010, Ministers and high level representatives from 24 European and 33 African countries adopted a Declaration to attain concrete and ambitious targets for 2020 on energy access, energy security and renewable energy and energy efficiency.

The African Union Commission, the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) Secretariat, Egypt, the European Commission, Germany and Italy are the Steering Group members providing political guidance to the Partnership.

AEEP Secretariat is hosted by the Partnership Dialogue Facility (EUEI PDF).

  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, Italy
  • Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)
  • Ministry of Electricity and Renewable Energy, Egypt
  • Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development, Germany
  • Politecnico di Milano/University of Milan
  • Terna Group